Splatoon 2 is likely to bring back LAN parties like never before. In a press release issued this morning, Nintendo has announced that Splatoon 2 will allow up to 10 docked Switch consoles to connect to each other through their LAN play feature. As Splatoon is a 4v4 game, this will allow for 8 players and 2 spectators. This comes in addition to the local wireless mode that supports up to 8 consoles at a time.

Producer on Splatoon and its sequel, Hisashi Nogami, had this to say: “Two years have passed in this universe since the original Splatoon, and since then, the weapons, maps and characters have evolved. Through the Splatoon 2 Global Testfire event this March, players will be able to get a taste of that. There will be more new features to experience in Splatoon 2, so please look forward to more reveals in the future.”

splatoon 2

Nintendo has also announced that Switch owners will get free access to the global Splatoon testfire during a three day event in March. you can see dates and times below:

March 24

• 12-12:59 p.m. PT / 3-3:59 p.m. ET

• 8-8:59 p.m. PT / 11-11:59 p.m. ET

March 25

• 4-4:59 a.m. PT / 7-7:59 a.m. ET

• 12-12:59 p.m. PT / 3-3:59 p.m. ET

• 8-8:59 p.m. PT / 11-11:59 p.m. ET

March 26

• 4-4:59 a.m. PT / 7-7:59 a.m. ET

Leave a Reply